Davey O’Brien Marquee Match-Up – Week 8

Two top Big 12 QBs go head-to-head in Morgantown

October 17, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas – Collin Klein and the fourth-ranked Kansas State Wildcats travel to Morgantown, W.Va. to face Geno Smith and the Mountaineers in the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Marquee Match-up for week eight, as chosen by fans on Facebook.

Throughout the season, the Davey O’Brien will highlight the fan-selected, best weekly quarterback match-up as the race for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award continues. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I FBS schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22.

Marquee Match-up: No. 4* Kansas State at No. 17* West Virginia
Saturday, October 20 at 6 p.m. (CT) on FOX

After escaping with a narrow victory over Iowa State, Collin Klein and the Kansas State Wildcats (6-0, 3-0 Big 12) will try to remain undefeated when they take on Geno Smith and the West Virginia Mountaineers (5-1, 2-1 Big 12). The game will come down to which quarterback executes their game plan the best. Klein, a run-first quarterback, currently leads all Big 12 quarterbacks with 510 rushing yards and 10 TDs, while Smith, a pass-first quarterback, leads the Big 12 in passing yards per game with 378.50 and passing touchdowns with 24.

Both teams will try to make a statement as the college football season reaches the halfway point. The game will provide a platform for the Mountaineers to bounce back from their first loss of the season, which came against Texas Tech last week, or for the Wildcats to establish themselves as a National Championship contender.

Other Notable Games (based on start times)

No. 2* Oregon (Marcus Mariota) at Arizona State (Taylor Kelly)
Thursday, October 18 at 8 p.m. (CT) on ESPN

No. 9* South Carolina (Connor Shaw) at No. 3* Florida (Jeff Driskel)
Saturday, October 20 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on CBS

*All rankings reflect The Associated Press Top 25 poll

About the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 6 on ESPN and will be honored at the 36th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!