Davey O’Brien QB of the Week – Week 7


October 15, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas – After passing for 499 yards and tying a career-high with six touchdowns, Seth Doege has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week. Doege led the Texas Tech Red Raiders to an impressive 49-14 upset over the fifth-ranked West Virginia Mountaineers.

Doege threw two touchdown passes in Tech’s first two possessions of the game and did not look back. He would go on to complete 32-of-42 passes with 15 of those going for 15 yards or more. The senior signal caller has guided his team to the fourth best passing offense in the NCAA Division I FBS with 369 yards per game this year.

“I thought Seth obviously did a heck of a job in just running our offense,” Texas Tech head coach Tommy Tuberville said. “Running the ball, taking the screens when they gave it to him, throwing the ball deep and making big plays. It was just fun to watch him have success.”

Doege will look to keep Tech’s momentum going when they head down the road to face TCU in a Big 12 battle at Amon G. Carter Stadium this Saturday.

Honorable Mention for Week Seven:

Jeff Driskel, Florida, SEC
Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten
Cody Vaz, Oregon State, Pac-12
Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, SEC

During the first eight weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 124 FBS quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced Oct. 22. Finalists will be announced Nov. 19 and the 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced Dec. 6.

About the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 6 on ESPN and will be honored at the 36th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas. 

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. 

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!