Davey O’Brien QB of the Week – Week Two


September 10, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas – After leading Louisiana-Monroe (ULM) to a 34-31 upset over No. 8 Arkansas, Kolton Browning has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week. The victory is the Warhawks’ first over a ranked team since joining the Football Bowl Subdivision in 1994.

Browning put on an impressive performance in ULM’s season opener, rallying his team from a 21-point deficit to send the game into overtime. The dual-threat quarterback tallied 481 yards of total offense and four touchdowns, including a gutsy 16-yard scramble into the end zone on fourth-and-one to win the game.

“He did a great job,” Arkansas coach John L. Smith said. “He made play, after play, after play. That includes one at the end to win. We couldn’t tackle him, couldn’t stop him. He played a great game.”

Browning and the Warhawks face another tough match-up next Saturday when they travel to Auburn, Ala. to take on the Tigers in Jordan-Hare Stadium.

Honorable Mention for Week Two:

Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12
Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12
Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, WAC
Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12
Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten
Matt Scott, Arizona, Pac-12

During the first eight weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 124 FBS quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced Oct. 22. Finalists will be announced Nov. 19 and the 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced Dec. 6.

About the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 6 on ESPN and will be honored at the 36th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!