Robert Griffin III Named 2011 Davey O’Brien Award Winner


December 8, 2011
– The Davey O’Brien Foundation today announced Baylor’s Robert Griffin III as the 2011 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) Winner. Jim McMahon, the 1981 O’Brien Winner, presented the award during The Home Depot College Football Awards at the Walt Disney World Resort. Griffin will be honored at the 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 20, 2012 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Griffin was a finalist for The O’Brien along with Houston’s Case Keenum and Stanford’s Andrew Luck. The O’Brien National Selection Committee selected the winner with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

During the regular season, the prolific signal caller led the Baylor Bears (9-3, 6-3 Big 12) to their best record in 25 years, while single-handedly propelling his team into the national spotlight. In addition to earning a berth to the Valero Alamo Bowl, the Bears notched signature wins against conference rivals Oklahoma and Texas.

The fourth-year junior from Copperas Cove, Texas has had a record-setting season. Griffin, the nation’s top-rated passer (192.31), has amassed a school-record 3,998 passing yards and 45 touchdowns, with only six interceptions on the season. He leads the nation in points responsible for (22.67 points per game) and ranks second overall in total offense with 386.83 yards per game. Additionally, Griffin is also only the third player in Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) history with more than 10,000 career passing yards (10,071) and 2,000 career rushing yards (2,199).

Griffin is Baylor’s first Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner; however, linebacker Mike Singletary won the Davey O’Brien Memorial Trophy in 1979 and 1980. The Memorial Trophy was presented annually to the most outstanding player in the Southwestern states of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas from 1977 until 1981 when the award was expanded nationally in scope and limited to quarterback, the primary position of our namesake.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $825,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

National College Football Awards Association
The O’Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!