Marquee Match-up – Michigan at Michigan State


October 12, 2011   

FORT WORTH, Texas – A pair of Michigan squads go head-to-head this week in the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) Marquee Match-up between Michigan and Michigan State. Hoping to remain unbeaten, Denard Robinson and the Wolverines hit the road for an early-afternoon meeting against Kirk Cousins and the rival Spartans in the annual battle for the Paul Bunyan Trophy.  

Throughout the season, The O’Brien will highlight the best weekly quarterback match-up as the race for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award continues. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 24.  

Marquee Match-up: No. 11 Michigan at No. 23 Michigan State
Saturday, October 15 at 11 a.m. (CT) on ESPN
Conference foes Michigan (6-0, 2-0 Big Ten) and Michigan State (4-1, 1-0 Big Ten) take the field this weekend to decide which school reigns supreme in the state. Denard Robinson has continued to show his skills as a dual-threat quarterback, finding the end zone in the air and on the ground a total of 18 times this season. The junior has racked up 1,130 passing yards and 720 rushing yards in Michigan’s first six games. Kirk Cousins has provided a spark for the Spartan offense, throwing for more than 200 yards in four of the team’s five games and totaling 1,197 on the year. The senior is averaging 239.4 passing yards per game and has collected six scores through the air. The two quarterbacks will be under pressure in the match-up as both the Michigan and Michigan State defenses rank within the nation’s top 10 in scoring defense.  

The contest between the Wolverines and Spartans dates back to 1892, with Michigan leading the all-time series by a 67-31-5 mark. The past three meetings have been won by Michigan State, however, including a 34-17 victory in 2010. For the second year in a row, the two teams will enter the game ranked within the top 25.  

Other Notable Games (based on start times)

  • No. 20 Baylor (Robert Griffin III) at No. 21 Texas A&M (Ryan Tannehill)
    Saturday, October 15 at 11 a.m. (CT) on FX
  • No. 19 Virginia Tech (Logan Thomas) at Wake Forest (Tanner Price)
    Saturday, October 15 at 5:30 p.m. (CT) on ESPN3
  • No. 7 Stanford (Andrew Luck) at Washington State (Marshall Lobbestael)
    Saturday, October 15 at 6:30 p.m. (CT) on Versus
  • No. 18 Arizona State (Brock Osweiler) at No. 9 Oregon (Darron Thomas)
    Saturday, October 15 at 9:15 p.m. (CT) on ESPN

*All rankings reflect The Associated Press Top 25 poll (Oct. 9) 

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from The O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2011 O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 8 on ESPN and will be honored at the 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas. 

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
Founded in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.  

 # # #

Be Sociable, Share!