Marquee Match-up – Nebraska at Wisconsin

September 28, 2011

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
Marquee Match-up

FORT WORTH, Texas – The 2011 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) Marquee Match-up for week five follows another top 10 contest as No. 8 Nebraska visits No. 7 Wisconsin in a clash of Big Ten powers. With both teams undefeated, Taylor Martinez will lead the Cornhuskers against Russell Wilson and the Badgers as the two quarterbacks battle for continued success.

Throughout the season, The O’Brien will highlight the best weekly quarterback match-up as the race for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award continues. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 24.

Marquee Match-up: No. 8 Nebraska at No. 7 Wisconsin
Saturday, October 1 at 7 p.m. (CT) on ABC
In the first weekend of Big Ten action, two of the league’s top teams will go head-to-head as Nebraska (4-0) travels to face Wisconsin (4-0). Cornhusker sophomore Taylor Martinez has proven himself to be one of the top duel-threat quarterbacks in the nation. He has posted 647 passing yards, a team-leading 421 rushing yards and 11 total touchdowns through the first four games of the season. Russell Wilson, in his first season with Wisconsin, has been nothing short of impressive – throwing for 1,136 yards and 11 touchdowns thus far. Currently the nation’s second-most efficient passer, Wilson has also accrued 108 rushing yards and one score on the ground.

The contest, which serves as Nebraska’s first league game as a member of the Big Ten conference, will be the first between the two teams since 1974 and just the sixth meeting overall. Nebraska holds a 3-2 edge over Wisconsin in the series.

  *All rankings reflect The Associated Press Top 25 poll (Sept. 25)

Other Notable Games (based on start times)

  • No. 14 Texas A&M (Ryan Tannehill) vs. No. 18 Arkansas (Tyler Wilson)
    Saturday, October 1 at 11 a.m. (CT) on ESPN
  • No. 15 Baylor (Robert Griffin III) at Kansas State (Collin Klein)
    Saturday, October 1 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on ABC
  • No. 13 Clemson (Tajh Boyd) at No. 11 Virginia Tech (Logan Thomas)
    Saturday, October 1 at 5 p.m. (CT) on ESPN2
  • No. 3 Alabama (AJ McCarron) at No. 12 Florida (John Brantley)
    Saturday, October 1 at 7 p.m. (CT) on CBS

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from The O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2011 O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 8 on ESPN and will be honored at the 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
Founded in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!