Quarterback of the Week – Brandon Weeden


September 26, 2011

FORT WORTH, Texas – Following his team’s 30-29 win over then-No. 8 Texas A&M, Oklahoma State’s Brandon Weeden has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week. The senior threw for a school-record 438 yards in the win.

Facing a 20-3 deficit at halftime, Weeden helped the Cowboys to 27-straight points, including a pair of touchdown passes in the third quarter to give Oklahoma State the lead. He connected on 47-of-60 passes to finish the day, setting school marks for both completions and pass attempts in a game.

“At halftime we didn’t change anything, we just started executing and things started going our way,” Weeden mentioned. “Our guys did a great job up front. In the second half things started clicking. We have a lot of momentum going forward now. This is my biggest win.”

Through four games this season, the senior leads the nation in passing yards (1,592), passing yards per game (398.00) and completions per game (35.50). The No. 5-ranked Oklahoma State squad will have a bye week before hosting conference foe Kansas for an Oct. 8 contest.

Other quarterbacks who received votes in week four included:

Tajh Boyd                  Clemson                 ACC
Robert Griffin III           Baylor                    Big 12
Landry Jones              Oklahoma              Big 12
Collin Klein                 Kansas State         Big 12
Jarrett Lee                  LSU                      SEC
Bryant Moniz              Hawaii                   WAC
Kellen Moore              Boise State            Mountain West
Keith Price                 Washington            Pac-12
Denard Robinson        Michigan                Big Ten
Tevin Washington       Georgia Tech          ACC

During the first eight weeks of the season, a subset of The O’Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks are candidates for the award until Semifinalists are announced Oct. 24. Finalists will be announced Nov. 21 and the 2011 O’Brien Winner will be announced Dec. 8.

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from The O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2011 O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 8 on ESPN and will be honored at the 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
Founded in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org

 American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.

 # # #


Be Sociable, Share!