Quarterback of the Week – Denard Robinson


September 12, 2011

FORT WORTH, Texas – Michigan’s Denard Robinson has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week after leading the Wolverines to a 35-31 victory over Notre Dame in impressive fashion.

With Michigan facing a 24-7 deficit in the final quarter, Robinson took the team on his back and found four touchdowns to power the Wolverines to victory. His most impressive score occurred with only two seconds remaining in the game as the junior connected on a 16-yard strike to put the finishing touches on the remarkable comeback. The drive, which covered 70 yards, took Robinson only 28 seconds to orchestrate.

“Every time you see a University of Michigan team, you’re going to see a team that’s going to play together and fight until the end,” said Robinson.

Robinson completed 11-of-24 passes during the game and tallied 338 passing yards and four touchdowns in the process. He was equally productive on the ground, running 16 times for 108 yards and one score.

The Deerfield Beach, Fla., native, whose efforts kept the Wolverines perfect at 2-0 to start the season, earned the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week honor twice during the 2010-11 season.

Other quarterbacks who received votes in week two included:

Tyler Bray                     Tennessee                   SEC
James Franklin              Missouri                      Big 12
Andrew Luck                 Stanford                       Pac-12
EJ Manuel                     Florida State                ACC
Brock Osweiler              Arizona State               Pac-12
Darron Thomas              Oregon                        Pac-12
Brandon Weeden           Oklahoma State           Big 12

During the first eight weeks of the season, a subset of The O’Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks are candidates for the award until Semifinalists are announced Oct. 24. Finalists will be announced Nov. 21 and the 2011 O’Brien Winner will be announced Dec. 8.

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from The O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2011 O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 8 on ESPN and will be honored at the 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
Founded in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!