Cam Newton Named 2010 Davey O’Brien Award Winner

December 9, 2010


FORT WORTH, Texas – The Davey O’Brien Foundation proudly announced Auburn’s Cam Newton as the 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) Winner today. Doug Flutie, the 1984 O’Brien Winner, presented the award during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Newton is the first player from Auburn to win The O’Brien.

Newton was a finalist for The O’Brien along with Stanford’s Andrew Luck and Boise State’s Kellen Moore. The O’Brien National Selection Committee selected the winner with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship. 

During his first season at Auburn, the junior college transfer has led the top-ranked Tigers to a 12-0 record, Southeastern Conference Championship and a berth in the 2011 Tostitos BCS National Championship game against the Oregon Ducks.

The junior from College Park, Ga. has continuously demonstrated his versatility and athleticism, dominating opponents with his speed and accuracy. Newton, the nation’s top-rated passer (188.16), leads the SEC in rushing (108.38 yards) and total offense (307.54 yards). He also ranks second in the NCAA in total points responsible for (22.62 per game). He has amassed 3,998 yards of total offense and 49 touchdowns this season. Newton is one of just three players to have 20 passing and 20 rushing touchdowns in one season.

Newton will be honored at the 34th Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 21, 2011 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

National College Football Awards Association
The O’Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official Web site,

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.


Be Sociable, Share!