Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up

November 17, 2010


FORT WORTH, Texas – The 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) Marquee Match-up for week 12 features a Big Ten showdown between O’Brien Semifinalists Terrelle Pryor and Ricky Stanzi.

Fans can show their support for Pryor and Stanzi, as well as any of the other 14 semifinalists, by visiting www.VoteOBrien.org and voting as often as once daily. The Fan Vote will count as 5% of the total vote in determining the finalists.

Marquee Match-up: No. 8 Ohio State vs. No. 21 Iowa
Saturday, November 20 at 2:30 p.m. (CST) on ABC
Terrelle Pryor and the Ohio State Buckeyes look to remain in contention for a share of a sixth consecutive Big Ten title by securing a victory against Ricky Stanzi and the Iowa Hawkeyes. Pryor, who leads the Big Ten with 16.60 points per game, needs 78 more rushing yards to reach 2,000 for his career.

After a disappointing loss at Northwestern, Stanzi will try to get Iowa back on track with an upset of the Buckeyes. The senior signal-caller is tied for the Big Ten lead with 22 touchdown passes and ranks first in passing efficiency (third in the NCAA) with a rating of 167.19.  

Other Notable Games (based on start times)

  • No. 9 Nebraska (Taylor Martinez) at No. 18 Texas A&M (Ryan Tannehill)
    Saturday, November 20 at 7 p.m. (CST) on ABC
  • No. 16 Oklahoma (Landry Jones) at Baylor (Robert Griffin III)
    Saturday, November 20 at 7 p.m. (CST) on ESPN2

*All rankings reflect The Associated Press Top 25 poll

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from The O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2010 O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 9 on ESPN and will be honored at the 34th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 21, 2011 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.

# # #


Be Sociable, Share!