Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up

November 3, 2010


FORT WORTH, Texas – The 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) Marquee Match-up for week 10 features a Western Athletic Conference (WAC) showdown between O’Brien Semifinalist Kellen Moore and Bryant Moniz.

Fans can show their support for Moore, as well as any of the other 15 semifinalists, by visiting www.VoteOBrien.org and voting as often as once daily. The Fan Vote will count as 5% of the total vote in determining the finalists.

Marquee Match-up: Hawai’i at No. 2 Boise State
Saturday, November 6 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on ESPNU
Two of the top quarterbacks in the nation face-off this weekend when Bryant Moniz and the Hawai’i Warriors travel to Boise State to take on Kellen Moore and the Broncos. Moniz, who leads the nation in passing (360.8 yards per game) and total offense (373.44 yards per game), is guaranteed to be tested by the Broncos’ physical defense, which ranks third in the NCAA (236.43 yards per game).

After an impressive performance against Louisiana Tech which included 285 yards of total offense, two touchdown passes, a seven-yard touchdown reception and a 54-yard punt, Moore, who leads the nation in passing efficiency (188.30), will try to keep the Broncos undefeated and in the hunt for a national title. Boise State’s 21-game winning streak is the longest active streak among NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools.

Other Notable Games (based on start times)

  • No. 15 Iowa (Ricky Stanzi) at Indiana (Ben Chappell)
    Saturday, November 6 at 11 a.m. (CT) on Big Ten Network
  • No. 22 Baylor (Robert Griffin III) at No. 19 Oklahoma St. (Brandon Weeden)Saturday, November 6 at 11:30 a.m. (CT) on FSN
  • No. 17 Arkansas (Ryan Mallett) at No. 18 South Carolina (Stephen Garcia)
    Saturday, November 6 at 6 p.m. (CT) on ESPN

*All rankings reflect The Associated Press Top 25 poll

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from The O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2010 O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 9 on ESPN and will be honored at the 34th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 21, 2011 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.

# # #


Be Sociable, Share!