2010 Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists Announced

October 25, 2010 


FORT WORTH, Texas – The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced the 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) today.

Narrowed down from all 120 quarterbacks from NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools, semifinalists were selected by The O’Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.  

The list highlights seven juniors, five sophomores, three seniors and one freshman. The Big Ten and Big 12 lead all conferences with four candidates. The Pac-10 is represented by three players.

Matt Barkley (So., USC), Kellen Moore (Jr., Boise State) and Ricky Stanzi (Sr., Iowa) are the only returning semifinalists.

2010 Davey O’Brien Semifinalists

Matt Barkley              SO       USC                           Pac-10
Kirk Cousins              JR        Michigan State            Big Ten
Andy Dalton               SR       TCU                            MWC
Blaine Gabbert           JR        Missouri                      Big 12
Robert Griffin III          SO       Baylor                          Big 12
Landry Jones             SO       Oklahoma                    Big 12
Colin Kaepernick        SR       Nevada                        WAC
Andrew Luck              JR        Stanford                      Pac-10
Ryan Mallett               JR       Arkansas                     SEC
Taylor Martinez           FR       Nebraska                     Big 12
Kellen Moore              JR        Boise State                 WAC
Cam Newton              JR        Auburn                        SEC
Terrelle Pryor             JR        Ohio State                   Big Ten
Denard Robinson        SO       Michigan                     Big Ten
Ricky Stanzi              SR       Iowa                            Big Ten
Darron Thomas          SO       Oregon                        Pac-10

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 21.

The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 22. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 9 and will be honored at the 34th Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 21, 2011 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org

National College Football Awards Association
The O’Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official Web site, www.NCFAA.org

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien. 

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!