Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up

October 20, 2010

O’Brien Watch List candidates go head-to-head in week eight

FORT WORTH, Texas – The 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) Marquee Match-up for week eight highlights O’Brien Watch List candidates Blaine Gabbert and Landry Jones as they face off in a Big 12 showdown.

Throughout the season, The O’Brien will highlight the best weekly quarterback match-up as the race for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award continues. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 25.

Marquee Match-up: No. 3 Oklahoma at No. 18 Missouri
Saturday, October 23 at 7 p.m. (CT) on ABC
Following their 52-0 rout of Iowa State last weekend, Landry Jones and the Oklahoma Sooners head to Columbia, Mo. to defend their No. 1 Bowl Championship Series (BCS) ranking and undefeated record against Blaine Gabbert and the Missouri Tigers.

After throwing for 361 yards and three touchdowns in a 30-9 victory at Texas A&M, Gabbert will try to accomplish the lofty goal of guiding Mizzou to its first 7-0 record since 1960.  Jones, the sophomore signal-caller from Artesia, N.M., is sure to face a tough test when he squares off against the Tigers’ stingy scoring defense, which ranks second nationally. 

Other Notable Games (based on start times)

  • No. 8 Michigan State (Kirk Cousins) at Northwestern (Dan Persa)
    Saturday, October 23 at 11 a.m. (CT) on ESPN
  • No. 10 Wisconsin (Scott Tolzien) at No. 13 Iowa (Ricky Stanzi)
    Saturday, October 23 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on ABC/ESPN
  • No. 14 Nebraska (Taylor Martinez) at No. 17 Oklahoma State (Brandon Weeden)
    Saturday, October 23 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on ABC

*All rankings reflect The Associated Press Top 25 poll

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from The O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2010 O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 9 on ESPN and will be honored at the 34th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 21, 2011 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!