Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up

September 29, 2010


FORT WORTH, Texas – The 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) Marquee Match-up for week five highlights a Pac-10 showdown between O’Brien Watch List candidate Andrew Luck and Darron Thomas. 

Throughout the season, The O’Brien will highlight the best weekly quarterback match-up as the race for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award continues. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 25.

Marquee Match-up: No. 9 Stanford at No. 4 Oregon
Saturday, October 2 at 7 p.m. (CT) on ABC/ESPN2
On the heels of a commanding 37-14 victory at Notre Dame, Andrew Luck and the undefeated Stanford Cardinal (4-0, 1-0 Pac-10) will travel to Eugene, Ore. to take on sophomore Darron Thomas and the fourth-ranked Oregon Ducks (4-0, 1-0 Pac-10) Saturday night at Autzen Stadium.

With Oregon ranked first in scoring offense (57.75 ppg) and Stanford ranked fourth (48 ppg), the game should prove to be an offensive battle as both teams try to stake their claim for the Pac-10 title and a possible national championship berth.

Other Notable Games (based on start times)

  • Texas A&M (Jerrod Johnson) at Oklahoma State (Brandon Weeden)
    Thursday, September 30 at 6:30 p.m. (CT) on ESPN
  • No. 11 Wisconsin (Scott Tolzien) at No. 24 Michigan State (Kirk Cousins)
    Saturday, October 2 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on ABC/ESPN
  • Virginia Tech (Tyrod Taylor) at No. 23 N.C. State (Russell Wilson)
    Saturday, October 2 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on ABC

*All rankings reflect The Associated Press Top 25 poll

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from The O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2010 O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 9 on ESPN and will be honored at the 34th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 21, 2011 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.

# # #




Be Sociable, Share!