The O’Brien Finalists Revealed: Tim Tebow

This is the final release in a series of three highlighting the 2009 O’Brien Finalists

FORT WORTH, Texas (Dec. 3, 2009) – Tim Tebow, of the University of Florida, is one of three Finalists for the 2009 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) announced on Nov. 23. Tebow, a senior quarterback from Jacksonville, Fla., is competing against Houston’s Case Keenum and Texas’ Colt McCoy for The O’Brien, honoring the nation’s best college quarterback.

Florida fans are encouraged to continue to show their support for Tebow by visiting and voting as often as once daily. Fan voting will continue until noon on Dec. 6 and will contribute 5% of the total vote.

Tebow, the 2007 O’Brien Winner, led the undefeated No. 1 Gators to their 22nd straight win and first 12-0 regular season record last Saturday against Florida State, when he accounted for five touchdowns in UF’s 37-10 victory. The dual-threat quarterback is the Southeastern Conference (SEC) all-time leader in total offense with 11,389 all-purpose yards and holds the SEC records for rushing touchdowns (56) and rushing yards by a quarterback (2,833).

During the 2007 season, Tebow became the first quarterback in NCAA history to rush and pass for at least 20 touchdowns. Over his four-year career as the Gators’ signal caller, he has passed for 8,556 yards and 84 touchdowns and has rushed for 2,833 yards and 56 touchdowns. He is the only Gator quarterback to have rushed for 100 yards in five games.

Following in the footsteps of his sports hero Danny Wuerffel, former Florida quarterback and two-time O’Brien Winner, Tebow leads the Gators to the SEC Championship, where they will square off against Alabama for the second year in a row.

“Tim is one of the best leaders that I’ve ever had the opportunity of being around,” said Florida head coach Urban Meyer. “He not only inspires his teammates on the field, but he encourages them to be better men through his words and actions off the field.”

Tebow has received numerous notable awards and honors over the past four years. Among those include Offensive MVP of the 2009 FedEx BCS National Championship, 2008 Offensive Player of the Year by both the SEC and The Associated Press (AP), Wuerffel Trophy winner (2008), Manning Award winner (2008), Maxwell Award winner (2008), and 2007 first-team AP All-American. In 2007, he became the first sophomore quarterback ever to win The O’Brien, and also took home the Heisman Trophy, Sullivan and Maxwell Awards.

Graduating in December with a degree in Family, Youth and Community Sciences, Tebow, was named the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2008 and is a three-time, first-team ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American. As a member of the 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, Tebow hopes to leave behind another legacy, this one off the field. The senior takes annual mission trips to the Philippines with his family and serves as an ambassador for the UF’s Goodwill Gators volunteering and speaking at local schools, prisons, hospitals and community events. His lifelong dedication and commitment to his faith and charity work will continue after his football career.

Tebow, along with Keenum and McCoy, will be present in Orlando, Fla., for the announcement of the 2009 Winner during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10 on ESPN. The O’Brien recipient will be honored Feb. 15, 2010, at the 33rd Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

About The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O’Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $770,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.


Be Sociable, Share!