The O’Brien Finalists Revealed: Colt McCoy

This is the second release in a series of three highlighting the 2009 O’Brien Finalists

FORT WORTH, Texas (Dec. 2, 2009) – Colt McCoy, of the University of Texas, is one of three Finalists for the 2009 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) announced on Nov. 23. McCoy, the senior quarterback from Tuscola, Texas, is competing against Houston’s Case Keenum and Florida’s Tim Tebow for The O’Brien, honoring the nation’s best college quarterback.

Longhorn fans are encouraged to continue to show their support for McCoy by visiting and voting as often as once daily. Fan voting will continue until noon on Dec. 6 and will contribute 5% of the total vote.

McCoy directed the No. 3 Texas Longhorns to their first 12-0 regular season record in school history after their Thanksgiving Day victory over rival Texas A&M where he ran for a career high of 175 yards and passed for 304 yards. Keeping his dream of leading the Longhorns to a national championship alive, McCoy will lead the undefeated Longhorns to the Big 12 Championship in their first appearance since 2005.

“Colt is a terrific football player, person and the ultimate student-athlete,” said Texas head coach Mack Brown. “As a football player, he works extremely hard to prepare himself, sets a great example for everyone on the team and is a guy that has made so many big plays and holds pretty much every record a quarterback can have here.”

The 2008 O’Brien Finalist finished his regular season holding 46 school records. McCoy’s 13,060 yards, 112 touchdowns, 70.6 completion percentage and 156.7 passer rating rank first on UT’s all-time list. He is also the first Longhorn to pass for more than 10,000 yards.

Coach Brown added that from day one, Colt’s ultimate focus has been doing whatever he needed to do to win. During his tenure as the Longhorns’ quarterback, McCoy has amassed a career record of 44-7, setting the NCAA record for career wins by a starting quarterback. He is also the only quarterback in NCAA history to lead his team to four 10-win seasons.

Throughout his prolific career at Texas, McCoy has received countless honors and accolades, including The Sporting News National Freshman of the Year (2006), first-team All-American honors (2008), Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year (2008), The Sporting News Co-Player of the Year (2008), Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year by The Associated Press (2008) and Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year by the league’s coaches (2009).

The five-time member of the UT’s Athletic Director’s Honor Roll and three-time first-team Academic Big 12 member will graduate in December with a degree in Sports Management. When not clashing on the gridiron, McCoy can be found visiting patients at the Dell Children’s Hospital in Austin, mentoring children at the Boys and Girls Club, inspiring students through the Fellowship of Christian Athletes or in Peru doing mission work. After graduation, McCoy hopes to devote more time to mission work.

McCoy, along with Keenum and Tebow, will be present in Orlando, Fla. for the announcement of the 2009 Winner during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10 on ESPN. The O’Brien recipient will be honored Feb. 15, 2010, at the 33rd Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

About The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O’Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $770,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.


Be Sociable, Share!