2009 O’Brien Quarterback Award Finalists Announced

Finalists continue their campaign for the oldest and most prestigious award honoring the nation’s best college quarterback

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 23, 2009) – The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) announced today its 2009 Finalists. The three quarterbacks: Case Keenum, University of Houston, Colt McCoy, University of Texas and Tim Tebow, University of Florida, were selected from the list of Semifinalists, narrowed down from all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks.

Fans may continue to show their support and help determine which quarterback will win the coveted O’Brien Award by voting as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. Fan voting will close at noon (CST) on Dec. 6. The 2009 O’Brien Winner will be announced live on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 10 at 6 p.m. (CST) on ESPN and will be honored at the 33rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 15, 2010 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Case Keenum, Houston
Keenum, the junior quarterback from Abilene, Texas, led the No. 23 Houston Cougars past Memphis last Saturday in the Cougars’ hunt for the Conference USA West division title. Keenum completed 29 of 39 attempts for 405 yards and five touchdown passes, setting new school records for career completions (971) and touchdown passes (94). Keenum leads the nation in passing with 4,599 yards and has thrown for 36 touchdowns this season. He now shifts his attention to their match-up against Rice this weekend in hopes of leading his team to the Conference USA Championship. Keenum has returned the spotlight to Cougar football and given Houston its second O’Brien hopeful since Andre Ware won The O’Brien in 1989.

Colt McCoy, Texas
McCoy, a four-year starter from Tuscola, Texas, directed the undefeated No. 3 Texas Longhorns to a victory over Kansas last Saturday clinching the Big 12 South division title and breaking the NCAA record for career wins by a starting quarterback. The senior quarterback leads the Big 12 in passing efficiency with a rating of 152.5 and has passed for 3,024 yards and 23 touchdowns this season. Before McCoy can turn his sights to the Big 12 Conference Championship, where he will take on the Nebraska Cornhuskers, he must first focus on Thanksgiving Day’s game against rival Texas A&M.

Tim Tebow, Florida
Under the leadership of Tebow, the No. 1 Florida Gators clinched the Southeastern Conference (SEC) East division title and their first undefeated season of SEC play since 1996. This season the senior quarterback from Jacksonville, Fla. broke SEC records for rushing touchdowns and touchdowns-scored. Tebow has thrown for 1,945 yards, 14 touchdowns and gained 706 yards on the ground with 11 rushing touchdowns to date this season. The Gators will clash with rival Florida State before shifting their focus to the SEC Championship where they will square off against Alabama in their quest for their second consecutive national title.

“The caliber of talent these three young men bring to the sport is undeniable and we are honored to recognize them as the 2009 O’Brien Finalists,” said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O’Brien Foundation. “This year’s fan support has far surpassed our expectations. To date, fans have cast close to 150,000 votes for their favorite quarterback.”

The Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, an elite group of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, selected The O’Brien Finalists, with the Fan Vote accounting for 5 % of the total vote. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of his quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, his reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. For a complete listing of the Selection Committee, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

About The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O’Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $770,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

National College Football Awards Association
The O’Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official Web site, www.NCFAA.org

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.


Be Sociable, Share!