The O’Brien completes On-the-Road Fan Vote Campaign in Week 12

The O’Brien will visit the remaining two Semifinalists’ campuses this Saturday

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 16, 2009) – On Saturday, Nov. 21, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) will make its final two stops of the On-the-Road Campaign visiting the campuses of Semifinalists Colt McCoy and Jacory Harris. This will conclude the 2009 On-the-Road Campaign in which The O’Brien will have visited each of the 15 Semifinalists’ campuses to promote each quarterback’s campaign for the 2009 O’Brien Award. College football enthusiasts and fans alike are encouraged to stop by The O’Brien display and vote for their favorite Semifinalist. Fans who vote at The O’Brien display will automatically be entered into the “Defend Your Pride. Vote O’Brien Sweepstakes,” for a chance to win a trip for two to the 2010 O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas. The O’Brien displays will be open pre-game through kickoff.

Fans not able to cast a vote in person can register and vote at Online fan voting will close at noon CST on Nov. 22 and Finalists will be announced on Nov. 23. Finalists will be selected by The O’Brien Selection Committee, comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, with the Fan Vote accounting for 5 % of the total vote.

Week 12: The O’Brien On-the-Road Campaign Locations
(listed by player’s last name)

  • Jacory Harris
    Duke at No. 20 Miami on Saturday, Nov. 21 at 11:00 a.m. on ESPNU
  • Colt McCoy
    Kansas at No. 3 Texas on Saturday, Nov. 21 at 7:00 p.m. on ABC

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans can now register and vote for any of the Semifinalists online at The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process and will be combined with the results from the Selection Committee, an elite group of journalists, commentators, broadcasters and former Winners. The 2009 O’Brien Winner will be announced live on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 10 on ESPN and will be honored at the 33rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 15, 2010 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O’Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $770,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien. 

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!