The O’Brien On-the-Road Campaign continues in Week 11

The O’Brien heads to five Semifinalists’ campuses this week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 9, 2009) – The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) continues its On-the-Road Campaign for the third week in a row as it makes stops at five Semifinalists’ campuses this week. College football enthusiasts and fans alike are encouraged to stop by The O’Brien display and vote for their favorite Semifinalist. Fans who vote at The O’Brien display will automatically be entered into the “Defend Your Pride. Vote O’Brien Sweepstakes,” for a chance to win a trip for two to the 2010 O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas. The O’Brien displays will be open pre-game through kickoff. 

Fans not able to cast a vote in person can register and vote at Online fan voting will close at noon CST on Nov. 22 and Finalists will be announced on Nov. 23. Finalists will be selected by The O’Brien Selection Committee, comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, with the Fan Vote accounting for 5 % of the total vote.

Week 11: The O’Brien On-the-Road Campaign Locations
(listed by player’s last name)

  • Matt Barkley
    Stanford at No. 9 Southern California on Saturday, Nov. 14 at 2:30 p.m. (CST) on FSN
  • Dan LeFevour
    Toledo at Central Michigan on Wednesday, Nov. 11 at 7 p.m. (CST) on ESPN 2
  • Jake Locker*
    Athletes in Action Basketball Classic at the University of Washington on Sunday, Nov. 15 at 1:30 p.m. (CST)
  • Todd Reesing
    Nebraska at Kansas on Saturday, Nov. 14 at 2:30 p.m. (CST) on ABC
  • Bill Stull
    Notre Dame at No. 12 Pittsburgh on Saturday, Nov. 14 at 7 p.m. (CST) on ABC

*Alternate O’Brien On-the-Road Campaign location; Washington
does not have a home game during the four week Semifinalist period.  

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans can now register and vote for any of the Semifinalists online at The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process and will be combined with the results from the Selection Committee, an elite group of journalists, commentators, broadcasters and former Winners. The 2009 O’Brien Winner will be announced live on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 10 on ESPN and will be honored at the 33rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 15, 2010 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O’Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $770,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.

# # #

Be Sociable, Share!