The O’Brien names Jake Locker QB of the Week

Locker leads Huskies to upset over No. 3 USC Trojans

FORT WORTH, Texas (Sept. 21, 2009) – The Davey O’Brien Foundation has named Jake Locker of the University of Washington the O’Brien Quarterback of the Week for week three. Locker, a 2009 O’Brien Watch List candidate, helped the Huskies shock the college football world with their upset over the undefeated and then ranked No. 3 University of Southern California Trojans, a win that landed them at No. 24 in this week’s AP Top 25 Poll.

In the Pac-10 Conference opener, the 16-13 win was the Huskies first win over the Trojans since 2001, in what was Pete Carroll’s first season at USC, and ended a seven-game losing streak to the Trojans. USC was also the highest ranked team beaten by Washington at home since Nov. 14, 1981. Junior quarterback Locker completed 21-of-35 for 237 yards and found the end zone on a four yard run, late in the first quarter.

“I can’t really describe it,” Jake Locker said, his voice hoarse following emotional tears. “It’s an amazing feeling to go through what all of us have gone through and to experience what everyone wants to experience when they play college football.”

Washington is on the road Saturday, Sept. 26 as they take on Stanford at 8 p.m. (CST).

Other quarterbacks who received votes in week three included:

Jimmy Clausen             Notre Dame      IND
Joe Cox                       Georgia            SEC
Jacory Harris                Miami               ACC
Landry Jones               Oklahoma          Big 12
Ryan Mallett                Arkansas           SEC
Todd Reesing               Kansas             Big 12
Tyrod Taylor                 Virginia Tech     ACC
Tim Tebow                   Florida              SEC

The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year. Each week a subset of The O’Brien Selection Committee will name the quarterback of the week who exemplifies the award’s standards. Currently all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks are candidates for the award until Semifinalists are announced Oct. 26. Finalists will be announced Nov. 23 and the 2009 O’Brien Winner will be announced Dec. 10.

About The O’Brien Fan Vote
Fans can now register and vote for any of the 120 FBS quarterbacks online at The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process. The Fan Vote will be combined with the results from the Selection Committee, an elite group of journalists, commentators, broadcasters and former Winners. The 2009 O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 10 on ESPN and will be honored at the 33rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 15, 2010 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O’Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $770,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O’Brien.


Be Sociable, Share!